Aten the One God

DSC_3315 (2)

Since my first visit to Egypt Aten or Aton has featured very much in my life.

The photo above is Aten. This is the first symbolistic piece of art created by Bassem Jalal. the owner of the Nubian Cataract Hotel and Restaurant.

I saw this immediately when I went for my first meeting with Bassem. It was like an indicator to me that I was in the right place.  It is very important to have indicators in life to give guidance.

Only later, after talking with Bassem about his artwork did I realise we both had the same interest in Aten and the Pharaoh Akhenaten.   Akhenaten was the only Pharaoh who believed in one God.

My first encounter with Aten was in my home in York and I did not realise it.  The pattern on the bottom of my bath was the same as the image here as created by Bassem Jalal.

The second encounter with Aten was in Cairo it definitely created a shift within me.  I was staying at the Sheraton Hotel in Cairo and when I went to bed that night, could not sleep for the light shining into the room, and when I looked up at the ceiling again there was the image of Aten.  I was completely over-awed by this.  The room being on the seventh floor, there was no way it could be street lights shining into my room.

It was always my intention to do some research into many visions and phenomena experiences I have had in Egypt. Unfortunately, life has a habit of getting in the way. I eventually came to a crossroads in my life, when Bassem Jalal, phoned me to invite me to talk about a job.  At this time, in my life, the thought of a job was music to my ears.  I went to the Nubian Cataract Hotel and Restaurant to meet Bassem once again.  I felt like I had returned home, I belonged.  Bassem and his family are very kind to me; the first time in so many years I have not experienced so much caring and kindness.  Their goodness flows through the hotel and brings the peace.

I started to create a website for the hotel and Bassem arranged for a professional photographer to create the photographs of the hotel.  The photographer had a great eye and captured another amazing phenomena with his camera.  Aten was shining over the hotel.  I immediately saw this and wrote to Bassem about it connecting it to a picture of Aten.  See the photo and picture below:

Sunrise

Sunrise Blesses the Hotel

 

Ankhenaten and Aten

Now for more about Aten and Ankhenaten, I will provide background information on Aten, as I am not an Egyptologist nor do I believe in science.  I am very similar to Ankhenaten working from my soul.

Aten also known as Aton, is the disk of the sun in ancient Egyptian History, and originally an aspect of the god Ra. The deified Aten is the focus of the religion of Atenism established by Amenhotep IV, who later took the name Akhenaten (died ca. 1335 BCE) in worship and recognition of Aten.

Akhenaten was strongly connected to Aten the One God and lived his life according to the words or understanding imparted on him by Aten.

Akhenaten wrote a hymn in praise of Aten.  It will have been the first ever written to praise God. Below is a replica of the Hymn in praise of Aten.

Hymn to Aten

The Aten Hymn middle part:

How manifold it is, what thou hast made!

They are hidden from the face (of man).

O sole god, like whom there is no other!

Thou didst create the world according to thy desire,

Whilst thou wert alone: All men, cattle, and wild beasts,

Whatever is on earth, going upon (its) feet,

And what is on high, flying with its wings.

The countries of Syria and Nubia, the land of Egypt,

Thou settest every man in his place,

Thou suppliest their necessities:

Everyone has his food, and his time of life is reckoned.

Their tongues are separate in speech,

And their natures as well;

Their skins are distinguished,

As thou distinguishest the foreign peoples.

Thou makest a Nile in the underworld,

Thou bringest forth as thou desirest

To maintain the people (of Egypt)

According as thou madest them for thyself,

The lord of all of them, wearying (himself) with them,

The lord of every land, rising for them,

The Aton of the day, great of majesty.

 

From the last part of the text, translated by Miriam Lichtheim.

You are in my heart,

There is no other who knows you,

Only your son, Neferkheprure, Sole-one-of-Re (Akhenaten),

Whom you have taught your ways and your might.

[Those on] earth come from your hand as you made them.

When you have dawned they live.

When you set they die;

You yourself are lifetime, one lives by you.

All eyes are on [your] beauty until you set.

All labor ceases when you rest in the west;

When you rise you stir [everyone] for the King,

Every leg is on the move since you founded the earth.

You rouse them for your son who came from your body.

The King who lives by Maat, the Lord of the Two Lands,

Neferkheprure, Sole-one-of-Re,

The Son of Re who lives by Maat. the Lord of crowns,

Akhenaten, great in his lifetime;

(And) the great Queen whom he loves, the Lady of the Two Lands,

Nefer-nefru-Aten Nefertiti, living forever.

Pharaoh Akhenaten forbade the worship of other gods, a radical departure from the centuries of Egyptian religious practice. Finally, Akhenaten issued a royal decree that the name Aten was no longer to be depicted by the hieroglyph of a solar disc emanating rays but instead had to be spelled out phonetically. Akhenaton’s religious reforms (later regarded heretical and reverted under his successor Pharaoh Tutankhamun).

The Religion or philosophy of Aten

Principles of Aten’s religion were recorded on the rock tomb walls of Akhetaten. In the religion of Aten (Atenism), night is a time to fear. Work is done best when the sun, Aten, is present. Aten cares for every creature, and created a Nile River in the sky (rain) for the Syrians. Aten created all countries and people. The rays of the sun disk only holds out life to the royal family; everyone else receives life from Akhenaten and Nefertiti in exchange of loyalty for Aten.

When a good person dies, he/she continues to live in the City of Light for the dead in Akhetaten. The conditions are the same after death. Akhenaten judged whether someone should be granted an afterlife, and operated the scale of justice.

The explanation as to why Aten could not be fully represented was that the god has gone beyond creation.

The spiritual centre of Aten was at the new city Akhetaten; some other cities included were Thebes and Heliopolis. The Aten’s principles were recorded on the rock walls of tombs of Tall al-Amarnah. Significantly different from other ancient Egyptian temples, temples of Aten were colorful and open-roofed to allow the rays of the sun. Doorways had broken lintels and raised thresholds. No statues of Aten were allowed; they were considered to be idolatry. However, these were typically replaced by functionally equivalent representations of Akhenaten and his family venerating the Aten, and receiving the  ankh – breath of life from him. Priests had less to do, since offerings (fruits, flowers, cakes) were limited, and oracles were not needed.Temples of Aten did not collect tax.

In the worship of Aten, they did not perfomr the daily rituals of purification, anointment and clothing of the divine image. Incense was burnt several times a day. Hymns sung to Aten were accompanied by harp music. Aten’s ceremonies in Akhetaten involved giving offerings to Aten with a swipe of the royal scepter.

Instead of barque processions, the royal family rode on a chariot on festival days.

Sunrise Over Nubian Cataract Hotel and Restaurant

Sunrise over Nubian Cataract Hotel and Restaurant

 I hope you have enjoyed the information about Aten the One God and how it has greatly factored into my life.  I will be doing more personal research learning from my soul and God the One God about Nubian life and the origins of Aten and Ankhenaten the most enlightened Pharaoh.

Join me in my explorations or chill-out staying at the Nubian Cataract Hotel and Restaurant – renowned for its peaceful environment.

 

Aten drawn by Bassem

Author – Nanette de Ville

For Enquiries and Bookings – Contact Us

8 thoughts on “Aten the One God

  1. Pingback: Aten the One God – Puzzles of the Soul

Leave a Reply

